New doctors kick-start their career in growing Blacktown

Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals new medical interns. Medical officers Dr Sarada Ganesan, Dr Estelle Noonan, Dr Theresa Nguyen and Dr Ridha Akhtar.

Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals have welcomed 54 trainee doctors, set to undertake a year-long internship at the hospitals.

The trainee doctors are part of the 142 medical graduates who will rotate through Western Sydney Local Health District (WSLHD) hospitals this year and will attend a two-week orientation program before commencing in medicine, surgery and emergency.

Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals Medical Services director Dr Brett Gardiner welcomed the new doctors.

“Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals is a great place for new doctors starting their careers.

“The redevelopments across both facilities makes it a great place for doctors to work in state-of-the art facilities,” said Brett.

Local resident and Blacktown Hospital medical graduate Dr Sarada Ganesan has lived in western Sydney for five years since migrating from India and has wanted to be a doctor from a young age.

Her auntie and uncle are both doctors so caring for people is in her blood.

“I completed my medical training in Western Sydney so I am familiar with the lifestyle and health issues of the communities,” Sarada said.

“Blacktown Hospital is very special to me as I completed most of my medical training here and it’s given me so much in terms of clinical experience and personal memories.

“From everyday ward rounds to having coffee with friends – it’s like a second home!

“I’m excited to help our patients and make a real difference to their lives.”

NSW guarantees intern positions to all domestic medical graduates of NSW universities and provides internships to many graduates from interstate universities, and, where possible, international full-fee paying medical graduates.

The interns will rotate through metropolitan, regional or rural hospitals, as well as GP practices.

Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals medical officers Dr Theresa Nguyen, Dr Estelle Noonan, Dr Ridha Akhtar and Dr Sarada Ganesan.