Auburn glistens with AQuA awards

Auburn AQuA winners: registered nurses Clare Carmichael, Gloria Chung, nurse unit manager Debra Smith, assistant in nursing Didier Ndongo, administration manager Lidiya Malinov and Admin manager and registered nurse Yingqi Li.

Auburn Hospital is bustling with excitement celebrating 110 years of caring for our communities and the hospital’s quality awards recently.

The AQuA’s awarded 11 teams for their contributions to improving healthcare and service delivery to patients.

Auburn Hospital director of nursing and midwifery Kate Murphy said the awards recognise the innovation, efforts and commitment of staff.

“These awards acknowledge staff for the quality work they perform on a daily basis,” Ms Murphy said.

“I’d like to thank and congratulate all staff for their ongoing contributions and dedication to improving patient care.”

The 2018 AQuA award winners are:

  • Operating Suite: A glove for every occasion

To encourage a latex free environment within operating theatres for all patients and staff. This has reduced costs and provides a safer environment.

  • Day Procedure Unit: Appointment on discharge 24/7

To improve the post-operative plastic patients follow up appointments and care after discharge.

  • Auburn Hospital Executive: Health service rounding

To connect the Auburn executive with the various clinical and non-clinical work areas within the hospital.

  • Physiotherapy Department: Plastic changes.. remoulding the way we provide information to our patients

To improve the information provided to and engagement with physiotherapy patients.

  • Recovery Unit: Ready steady scope

To improve patient flow through the perioperative journey by utilising the recovery discharge criteria.

  • Emergency Department: Reducing medication errors through workflow redesign

To improve medication room workflow and reduce medication errors.

  • Emergency Department: SSSSSystemising the emergency department stock room: The 5S approach

To reduce the time for obtaining supplies in emergency department by using the Sort, Set in order, Shine, Standardize and sustain approach.

  • Midwifery Services: Structured new graduate antenatal program (SNAP)

To allow women to have one-to-one midwifery care across the continuum of their pregnancy.

  • Emergency Department: The ABC to safety

To assist ED nursing staff in completing a mental health assessment, improve documentation and recognise and respond to changes in patients.

  • After Hours Nurse Managers: Think before you bin it

To reduce the environmental footprint, waste management expenses and help deserving organisations.

  • Nursing and Midwifery: Three R’s for patient transfer

To improve the safety mechanisms in using a Sling Hoist to transfer patients. Putting Patient Safety First:  Right lifter (safe work load), Right Sling (Sling matches the lifter) and Right Staff (correct number of staff).

Auburn AQUA winners: Registered nurse Jeff Deray, nurse unit manager Toni Eyles and clinical nurse manager Naresh Kc.


Auburn AQUA winners: Physiotherapist Joan Wang, registered nurse Nusrat Tamanna, physiotherapist James Chen, registered nurse Daniel Jr Orcullo and senior physiotherapist Ranji Jayawardena.