Applications open for 2018 Bursary Program

Front: Board member Bruce Turner, NSW Health Secretary Elizabeth Koff, board member Prof Don Nutbeam, board member Prof Diana O’Halloran, board chair Richard Alcock and bursary recipient Nigina Hashimi. Second row: bursary recipients Marie March, Dearne Cauz (orange shirt), board member Narelle Belle, bursary recipient Dayle Tierney and board member Elizabeth Crouch. Back row: bursary recipients Dr Marjhan Khajehei, Christine Coorey, Belinda Ford, Sally Neideck and Rebecca Lee.

Western Sydney Local Health District (WSLHD) staff are encouraged to apply for financial assistance to support their academic training through the WSLHD Board Bursary Program.

The bursary program is funded through a philanthropic trust established by members of the Board and members of Board committees who wish to support individual staff in their education and training.

Entries close on 17 August 2018.

Board chair Richard Alcock said a foundation for the future had been laid in 2017 when the first round of recipients were announced.

“The Board is very pleased with its philanthropic contribution to date,” Mr Alcock said.

“We are very proud knowing that the first 11 recipients of the bursaries in 2017 have drawn great benefit from the program.

“In 2018, we are in our second year of being able to directly support and invest in staff.

“We would like people from all areas of business in WSLHD to consider the opportunity.”

Bursary recipients receive a one-off payment of up to $5,000 to support their personal, clinical or research training.

For further information, or to apply for a 2018 Board Bursary, visit:

or view the video at:

The 2017 bursary recipients were:

  • Rebecca Lee – for Masters in Health Professional Education from Monash University Melbourne
  • Dayle Tierney – for Diploma in Mental Health through HETI
  • Nigina Hashimi – for Honours/Masters program in research & Bachelor of Nursing& Midwifery
  • Belinda Ford – for an international study tour of world-leading eye centres in Finland & England
  • Dr Marjan Khajehei – for a research project into the effect of length of postnatal hospital stay
  • Marie March – for Doctor of Philosophy from University of Sydney
  • Christine Coorey – for Preceptorship at the Quality Use of Medicines & Pharmacy Research Centre at the University of South Australia
  • Dearne Cruz – for National Paediatric Dietetic Training Course
  • Sally Neideck – for Masters of Quality Services (Health & Safety)
  • Richard Baldacchino – for Master of Mental Health Nursing (Nurse Practitioner)
  • Bobbi Henao Urrego – for Social Work Leadership Enhancement program in New York