Competence and kindness praised in first Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals’ 2019 Doctor of the Year Awards

BMDH Resident of the Year winner Terry Cheng and general manager Ned Katrib.

Doctors who go above and beyond on a daily basis have been recognised as part of a new tradition at Blacktown and Mount Druitt hospitals.

The hospitals formally closed the previous clinical year by announcing the winners of the inaugural BMDH Doctor of the Year awards, presented by the Medical Workforce Unit along with the Directors of Prevocational Education and Training.

Doctors nominated and voted for their peers, with kindness, positivity and taking time to invest in others among the qualities heralded in the eventual winners.

With an overwhelming number of votes, the BMDH Doctor of the Year Awards were presented to:

Intern of the Year 2019: Dr Joy Akwari

Resident of the Year 2019: Dr Terry Cheng

Registrar of the Year 2019: Dr Angela McPhee

Consultant of the Year 2019: Dr Surjit Tarafdar

Joy said she was surprised by the honour and admitted that near the end of medical school she feared she would fail her internship.

“I really don’t deserve the title, so all praise to God. Turns out you don’t have to be hectic book smart to be a good intern! As long as you work hard, communicate well and are kind to patients and staff members, then you will succeed,” Joy said.

“Internship is a hard year for many of us, but despite the difficulties, I enjoyed working at Blacktown Hospital because of the beautiful relationships I was able to create with staff, whether doctors, nurses, ward clerks or janitors, as well as the little precious moments I got to share with my patients.”

Surjit described it as a “fabulous and humbling feeling” to be awarded Consultant of the Year, and credited the support of his colleagues for enabling him to start and run training courses in nephrology and general medicine.

“Blacktown and Mount Druitt have grown phenomenally in the time I have been here and the thrill of an expanding hospital is almost palpable in the air. I feel blessed to have such wonderful colleagues and juniors who have helped me to grow both professionally and personally,” Surjit said.

“I would also like to mention that we have a fabulous team of nursing and allied staff, and that makes the lives of doctors working here so pleasant. I look forward to being here for many more years to come.”

BMDH acting general manager Ned Katrib was delighted to celebrate their achievements.

“This initiative is a great way to honour those medical staff who are consistently delivering the highest quality patient care.

“As we begin a new clinical year, I would like to recognise and thank all our staff for their contribution and look forward to an exciting year moving forward,” Ned said.

The BMDH Executive Committee of the Medical Staff Council also chose this event to present the winners of the Professional Development Bursary Recipients with their certificates. Professor Mark McLean presented those successful applicants with their acknowledgments.

The winners of the Professional Development Bursary were Dr Grace Kwok, Dr David Makarious and Dr Jovana Stojkov.

All of the winners were announced at a lunch sponsored by the BMDH Executive Committee of the Medical Staff Council held at Blacktown Hospital on Tuesday, 28 January 2020.