Strive for gold at Quality Awards 2020: workshops now open!

Sign up to a 2020 WSLHD Quality Awards workshops!

Calling all Western Sydney Local Health District (WSLHD) staff: your chance to win an award at our event of the year is here!

WSLHD Quality Awards “How to write a submission” workshops are now online, making access to tips and hints to strengthen your submission much easier.

The Quality Awards are WSLHD’s annual event, celebrating quality projects from throughout the year which have improved and had an impact on patient care across the organisation.

Selfie anyone? Staff enjoy the 2019 Quality Awards.

#QA2020 has undergone a slick transformation with a new look and feel to ring in the decade with glam and style ,and evoke all the glitz, glamour and gowns the district’s night of nights.

Submission writing workshops will help staff submit gold standard entries, with tips and advice provided about the essential requirements for the Quality Awards submission.  

Emily Meharg, Zukaa Alber, Jennifer Fitzsimons, Jeeyoun Jun and Vesna Janjic at the 2019 Quality Awards.

Clinical Governance acting director Heather Doolan encouraged teams to attend the workshops to ask questions and find out more about the submission process.

“We’re aiming for record submissions this year,” Heather said.

“Last year was the biggest Quality Awards to date and we expect there will be a lot of interest and anticipation for this year’s event.”

Check out some highlights from the 2019 Quality Awards ceremony.

“You can now access information on how to prepare your submissions from work or home. We want to make this process accessible and easy for our staff.”

2019 Quality Awards project winner and Westmead Hospital outpatient department team leader Katherine Maka attended the ceremony last year and enjoyed the lights, glamour, networking and seeing everyone dressed up for the night.

“This night is when we celebrate what’s great in Western Sydney,” Katherine said.

Entries for the 2020 Quality Awards will open on 1 March, 2020 and close on 31 May, 2020.

WSLHD staff: RJ Hunter, Natalia Ghosn, Michelle Lam, Jonathan Young and Michele Darwall.

Local quality managers can provide advice and support when drafting submissions.  Details for the quality managers can be found here.

Selected projects will be submitted for further recognition at a state and national level as part of the NSW Health Innovation Awards, the NSW Premier’s Awards and the Australian Council on HealthCare Standards Quality Awards.

To view the workshop presentation click here.

For further information about the 2020 Quality Awards, visit