Get excited: 2021 Quality Awards submissions are now open

It’s official – western Sydney’s biggest celebration for health heroes is returning in 2021 and if you’re a Western Sydney Local Health District staff member, your chance to take home a fancy award could be just around the corner.

The 2021 Quality Awards will once again roll out the red carpet in recognition of staff members who have delivered projects that have improved the health outcomes for the people of western Sydney and improved the quality of care for patients.

Submissions for a Quality Award have now opened and will close on 31 May, 2021.

The awards consist of eight key categories:

  •  Transforming Patient Experience
  • Delivering Integrated Care
  • Patient Safety First
  • Keeping People Healthy
  • Supporting Our Teams
  • A Safe and Healthy Workplace
  • Innovation and Research
  • Education and Training

Peak awards will also return to the event, which will include:

  • People’s Choice Award
  • Chief Executive Award
  • Board Chair Award
  • Nurse Employee of the Year
  • Corporate Services Employee of the Year
  • Doctor Employee of the Year
  • Allied Health Employee of the Year

A panel of judges internal will determine the winners.

Last year’s award winners can be found here.

WSLHD chief executive said that this year’s event will once again provide a great night of celebration for staff who are really committed to healthcare improvement.  

“Last year we saw a new era of glam and we expect there will be a lot of interest and anticipation for this year’s event.

“The Quality Awards is where we share the success and achievements of our local health district, with special recognition of innovative programs with benefits to patients, carers and their families, staff and the community.

“This is an opportunity for our staff to shine – so if you have worked, or are working on a project that deserves recognition, submit an entry.”

For further information about the 2021 Quality Awards, speak with your local quality manager or contact Natalie Fester-Lloyd by email.

Selected projects will be submitted for further recognition at a state and national level as part of the NSW Health Innovation Awards, the NSW Premier’s Awards and the Australian Council on HealthCare Standards Quality Awards.

Entries are due to your local Quality Manager by 31 May 2021.

Click here for more information on how to enter – including details of submission writing workshops with tips and practical advice to help staff prepare and address essential requirements for submissions.

Workshops will be made available for staff seeking assistance with populating their submission – details will be available in the coming weeks.