COVID-19 vaccinations available in western Sydney hospitals

Westmead Hospital patient Rakhi Tyagi chats to her nurse Shirin Al Rabii (left) before receiving a COVID-19 vaccination from Dr Monica Lamberton.

It’s never been easier to get your first, second or booster COVID-19 vaccination thanks to a convenient service provided by Western Sydney Local Health District (WSLHD).

Patients, outpatients and visitors at Westmead, Blacktown, Mount Druitt, Auburn and Cumberland hospitals have access to vaccination via mobile teams based at each facility.

WSLHD COVID-19 Vaccination Program outreach lead Jannelle Masa said the in-reach program has provided more than 2,200 vaccinations since launching on 30 July 2021.

“This is all about making it as easy as possible to get vaccinated – as with every part of our COVID-19 vaccination program across western Sydney,” Jannelle said.

Vaccination is our best defence against serious illness from COVID-19, and many people staying in hospital or visiting for appointments are more at risk if they do contract the disease.

“Providing this service within our hospitals is another way we can take that extra step in providing the very best care to our community and particularly to those most vulnerable.”

The in-reach service offers first, second and booster doses to all eligible patients aged 12 and over, as well as third doses for immunocompromised people. Pfizer is available for any dose, while AstraZeneca is available for first and second doses.

The patient must be deemed medically well by their treating team and consent to the vaccine.

For more information and to book your shot, speak to your nurse or doctor who will contact the in-reach team on your behalf.

The service is available at our hospitals as follows:

  • Westmead Hospital: Monday-Friday 9am-2:30pm
  • Cumberland Hospital: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 9am – 11am
  • Blacktown Hospital: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 12:30pm – 2:30pm
  • Auburn Hospital: Tuesday and Thursday 9am–11am
  • Mount Druitt Hospital: Tuesday and Thursday 12:30pm – 2:30pm
Nurse Shirin Al Rabii, Dr Aseel Marioud, Dr Monica Lamberto, nurse Shikha Dhakal, and administration officers Bethany Murphy and Kylie Finnegan.