Westmead Hospital’s ‘sleep doctor’ Professor John Wheatley wins Society Medal Award

Professor John Wheatley (second from left) in 2019 with Westmead Hospital Foundation director Joe Conneely, Professor John Wheatley, Mary Roberts, Dr Jin-Gun Cho and Westmead Hospital Research Foundation chair James Nguyen.

Congratulations to Westmead Hospital’s Head of Department of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine, Professor John Wheatley, who this month has won the 2022 Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand (TSANZ) Society Medal at the Annual Scientific Meeting.

TSANZ is the leading provider of research awards in respiratory medicine and has an extensive awards program supporting research in respiratory medicine and support research projects that generate new knowledge in lung health and disease.

The Society Medal is an acknowledgment of excellence in the advancement of the practice of thoracic medicine in Australia and New Zealand.

Professor Wheatley has been instrumental in Westmead’s COVID-19 response and I would like to take this opportunity to thank and congratulate him being recognised in this way,” said acting general manager at Westmead Hospital, Janelle Matic.

“This achievement highlights Professor Wheatley’s exceptional contributions to respiratory health. Congratulations!”

You can view the category winners for the 2022 TSANZ awards here.