With nearly 200 votes, these are Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals’ Doctors of the Year

Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospital (BMDH) staff have celebrated the esteemed experts working across both hospitals in a recent ceremony for the 2022 BMDH Doctors of the Year awards.

Award recipients were nominated by their peers for their dedication and commitment to serving the patients and communities of BMDH.

BMDH General Manager Brad Ceely was delighted with 184 votes received from medical and nursing staff for the categories of intern, resident, registrar, and consultant of the year.

“We have so many passionate and talented clinical staff and I commend all of you who go above and beyond each day,” Brad said.

BMDH Medical Services Director Dr Alison Loughran-Fowlds commended the 75 nominees who were recommended for an award.

“Selecting the winning candidates would have been extremely difficult because we have so many skilled and talented staff,” Alison said.

“I’d like to acknowledge everyone for their hardwork, determination, and commitment to our communities and providing quality healthcare. Keep up your great work!”

BMDH Medical Advisor Lissa Buenaventura and Co-Director of Pre-Vocational Training and Education Dr Puja Bhattacharyya presented the awards to recipients, and Dinesh Narayan and the Medical Workforce Team for coordinating the award ceremony.

Intern of the year: Dr Nishita Michhala

“I enjoy working at BMDH as a new intern, everyone takes their responsibilities seriously and we all look out for one another,” Nishita said.

“Thank you to all the JMOs for their successes and the cohort of people who have helped me in my career.”

Resident of the Year – Dr Madhu Edirisinghege 

I’d like to thank all the medical and nursing staff who work hard and do their best every day,” Madhu said. 

“Working in western Sydney over the last two years has been a privilege.”

Intern of the Year – Dr Nishita Muchhala; Resident of the Year – Dr Madhu Edirisinghege

Registrar of the Year – Dr Asheesh Elete 

“I’m thankful to those who voted for me and grateful for receiving this award,” Asheesh said.

Consultant of the Year – Dr Jingyi Cao

“We have teams of dedicated people, interns, residents, registrars, and consultants who are all here for the same cause – to help people and one another,” Jingyi said.

“Congratulations and thank you to all the women and men working in medicine who realise and live this dream.”

Registrar of the Year – Dr Asheesh Elete; Consultant of the Year – Dr Jingyi Cao

Western Sydney University Tutor Awards

Western Sydney Local Health District (WSLHD) and Western Sydney University (WSU) have celebrated their ongoing learning collaboration with Blacktown clinician and Clinical Dean Professor Sanjay Swaminathan presenting gifts and certificates to recognise staff for their dedication and commitment to the WSU.

This education opportunity includes clinical exposure through weekly tutorials (Introduction to Clinical Medicine – ICM).These tutorials are performed by WSLHD doctors who spend 90 minutes each week with the students to discuss theory, practice history and physical examinations, and see patients in the wards under the supervision and guidance of the tutor.

  • ICM Year 1 Tutor of the Year – Jiefu Zheng
  • ICM Year 2 Tutor of the Year – Jason (Juyao) Hui

Thank you to the following tutors who have contributed to the ongoing education of first- and second-year medical students for more than five years:

  • Associate Professor Graham Reece
  • Dr Sanaz Khalili Tehrani
  • Dr Surjit Tarafdar
  • Dr Mirna Vucak-Dzumhur
  • Dr Ming-Yan Teo
  • Dr Peter Kurusumuthu

Congratulations to BMDH colleagues and tutors from Western Sydney University (WSU) on a big year!