WINNERS’ LIST: Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals’ ‘Doctors of the Year’ awards

[tta_listen_btn listen_text=”Click here to have this article read aloud” pause_text=”Pause” resume_text=”Resume” replay_text=”Replay”]

Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals (BMDH) have recently recognised the outstanding contributions of their doctors at the annual BMDH Doctors of the Year Awards.

The 2023 winners were chosen from over 250 nominations, and they represent the very best of the medical profession in western Sydney.

We have so many dedicated and passionate staff and we would like to acknowledge your contributions to health. I wish we could give all our clinicians an award for their ongoing support and commitment.

Dr Alison Loughran-Fowlds, BMDH Medical Services Director

Dr. Bernie Changsiri, cardiologist at Blacktown Hospital, was awarded the prestigious 2023 BMDH Consultant of the Year award.

Dr. Changsiri is known for his professionalism, leadership, and compassionate care.

 He has been a dedicated member of the cardiology team for 10 years and is always willing to go the extra mile for his patients.

“It was a great and unexpected honour. This means a lot to me and shows me that my work towards patient care and teaching of junior staff is appreciated,” Dr Changsiri said.

Dr. Peter Tran and Dr. Lmar Shinwari were jointly awarded the 2023 Intern (PGY1) of the Year award.

Both doctors were praised for their hard work, dedication, and supportive nature.

Peter is described as efficient, hard-working, thoughtful and kind, always supporting others.

Lmar was described as the “cannula king”.

He is hardworking, reliable, diligent, and always rises to the challenge.

Dr. Nishita Muchhala was named the 2023 Resident Medical Officer (RMO) of the Year.

Dr. Muchhala is known for her willingness to help her colleagues, her positive attitude, and her strong leadership skills.

She is described as the “Queen of Blacktown Hospital”.

Nisha was previously recognised as 2022 Intern of the Year.

Dr. Mithila Zaheen received the 2023 BMDH Registrar of the Year award.

Dr. Zaheen is an inspiration to her fellow doctors and is always willing to go the extra mile to help others.

She is a talented clinician and a compassionate caregiver.

Blacktown Dr Mithila Zaheen (Medical Officer)

These awards are a fitting tribute to the dedication and hard work of the doctors at Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals.

They are all committed to providing the highest quality of care to their patients.

Thank you to all our hard working and dedicated staff who are committed to serving our patients and communities of western Sydney.

Brad Ceely, Blacktown and Mount Druitt Hospitals General Manager